logo

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS IN PORTUGAL 2021 - 2022

A list of public holidays in Portugal

Holidays are always observed on the day they fall and are not moved to a convenient Monday as in the UK.

Buses and trains run to Sunday/Holiday timetables on public holidays.They do run on Christmas Day and New Year's Day.

On Christmas Eve December 24th and New Year's Eve December 31st Businesses and shops close early, around 6 or 7pm. On Christmas Eve virtually everything closes early including bars and restaurants. Some late-evening buses and trains (especially long-distance services) will not run.
This information is announced in detail about two weeks beforehand.

Major malls and supermarkets are usually open all day on public and religious holidays, except on Christmas Day and New Year's Day, when they remain closed.
Some may also close on Good Friday, Easter Sunday and May 1st. You will need to check locally and/or nearer the time.

In tourist areas, smaller shops usually stay open all day except some will close on Good Friday and / or Easter Sunday.
On Christmas Day and New Year's Day shops are closed. Many small shops in the villages and of course all post offices and banks observe the holidays strictly.

Local school terms 2021 / 2022

First term ends Friday 17th December. Second term begins Monday 10th January (++) and ends Tuesday 5th April for Easter Holidays.
(++) It was announced on 25th November that the return to school is now delayed a week until this date.

Schools are closed 28th February, 1st and 2nd March for the Carnaval holiday.
Third term begins Tuesday 19th April and ends on various dates in June according to age.
In general the school year ends on 15th June.

 Buses marked in the timetables as 'SCH' (Schooldays) only operate during those periods, except obviously not on public holidays.

2021

Monday 1st November - All Saints
Wednesday 1st December - Restoration of Independence Day
Wednesday 8th December - Immaculate Conception
Saturday 25th December - Christmas Day. (26th December is not a holiday in Portugal)
Saturday 1st January 2022 - New Year's Day

2022

Tuesday 1st March - Carnaval /Shrove Tuesday. Not an official holiday but widely observed including on most railway and bus routes which run to Sunday times.
Friday 15th April - Good Friday
Sunday 17th April - Easter Sunday ('Easter Monday' is not a holiday in Portugal)
Monday 25th April - Liberation Day
Sunday 1st May - Labour Day
Friday 3rd June - Corpus Christi
Friday 10th June - National or Portugal Day
Monday 15th August - Assumption
Thursday 5th October - Republic Day
Tuesday 1st November - All Saints
Thursday 1st December - Restoration of Independence Day
Thursday 8th December - Immaculate Conception
Sunday 25th December - Christmas Day
(26th December is not a holiday in Portugal.)

SPANISH PUBLIC HOLIDAYS

Cross border travel may be affected as may local travel in Spain. Do check before making firm plans. In particular, some of the cross border buses (coaches) between Seville, the Algarve region and Lisbon do NOT operate on December 25th and January 1st. They do operate on most other major holidays.

Spanish Public Holidays for 2021 and 2022

For a list of all the timetables on the site, click here
For an alphabetical list of places in the Algarve, click here
For some important general notes about buses in the Algarve, click here
Back to the site home page here

www.algarvebus.info